Music Info Collections Misc
Song Spotlight >MusicHome  

Production Credits:

We Got The Click for Lyrics

First Appearance: To the 5 Boroughs LP, 4 June 2004
Written by: Beastie Boys
Performed by: Beastie Boys
Production Notes: Produced by Beastie Boys. Mixed by Supa Engineer "DURO" for No Question Ent./Loreal Inc. Recording engineered by Beastie Boys and Jon Weiner. Turntable Extraordinaire: Mix Master Mike. Recorded and mixed at Oscilloscope Laboratories. Mastered by Chris Athens at Sterling Sound.

Behind the Beats and Lyrics...


  • "They Punctured My Yolk" by The Flaming Lips from their album Clouds Taste Metallic (1995)


  • Christian Coalition - the largest and most active conservative grassroots political organization in America
  • Right Wing - extremely conservative political point of view
  • Cone of Silence - a plastic shield that comes down over two people's heads to prevent other people from hearing their conversation in the television series "Get Smart" (1965-1970)
  • Ghandi - Mohatma Ghandi (1869-1948), leader of the Indian nationalist movement against British rule and internationally esteemed for his doctrine of non-violent protest to achieve political and social progress
  • M.L.K. - Martin Luther King, Jr. (1929-1968), eloquent black Baptist minister who led the civil rights movement in the United States from the mid-1950's until his assassination in 1968
  • Amadou Diallo (1975-1999) - African immigrant "accidentally" shot 41 times by members of NYPD's Special Crimes Unit
  • A-bomb - atomic bomb, a basic fission nuclear weapon
  • W.O.M.D.s - weapons of mass destruction
  • Multilateral disarm - a mutual agreement to cut back or eliminate weapons on both sides

Sample & Reference Breakdown

  • "...and power is the thing" - a sampled from "They Punctured My Yolk" by the Flaming Lips


Beastie Boys

"We're lucky enough that we have this platform where we can talk about things with our music. But everybody has a platform, everybody's communications and thoughts and actions are significant." - Beastie Boys, 2004


"On the last track of the Beastie Boys' To the 5 Boroughs, after the three brash white rappers have dispensed the inevitable 'we're so crazy' rhymes, shouted out to the city that 'blends and mends and tests,' and revived '70s ad slogans, there comes a moment of undisguised idealism. The song is a little empowerment chant called 'We Got The.' MCA, the rapper Adam Yauch, begins: 'If you want it, be the change.' Then Mike D. [Editor's note: it's Adrock's line] takes the spotlight: 'Gotta spread love or the world goes...' the last word of his sentence supplied, right on the beat, by the sound of a cuckoo clock. And with that, the floodgates open." - Tom Moon, Inquirer, June 2004

"...harmless, political rhymes" - Chloe Sasson, Sydney Morning Herald, June 23, 2004


Released Versions:

We Got The
We Got The (Instrumental)
We Got The (Slok vs. Beastie Boys Edit)


Performed in 5 known Concerts.

First known Performance:
10-May-2004 : Club Maria, Berlin, Germany

Last known Performance:
06-Dec-2004 : Evening News Arena, Manchester, England

Previous Next